CMU faculty honored for nuclear physics/neurodegenerative disease research

President's and Provost's Awards
President and Provost Awards recognize internationally distinguished scientists
Central Michigan University has recognized several of its faculty members for academic excellence for fostering positive mentoring connections with their students and participating in research involving technology in education, the environment and new drug therapies for neurodegenerative diseases.
“The faculty members we recognize today are committed to the pursuit of knowledge, wisdom, discovery and creativity,” said CMU President George E. Ross. “Their explorations and scientific discovery significantly advance CMU’s efforts to make a difference in people’s lives across Michigan, the country and globally. They create an academic environment that ensures our students are prepared for successful careers as responsible citizens in their communities.”
The President’s Award for Outstanding Research and Creative Activity, which recognizes outstanding senior faculty members for their scholarship and research of national and international merit, was given to two individuals:
  • Gary Dunbar, professor of psychology, is among the top worldwide researchers in the area of behavioral neuroscience. His research is focused on using stem cell transplants, dietary supplements and pharmacological treatments for cognitive or motor deficits following brain damage and neurodegenerative diseases, such as Huntington’s, Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases.
  • Mihai Horoi, a professor of physics, joined CMU as a programmer analyst in 1995 after serving as a research associate at institutions such as Germany’s Giessen University and Romania’s Radiation Laboratory. Horoi earned his doctoral degree in nuclear theory from the Institute of Atomic Physics in Bucharest, Romania. Horoi’s scientific contributions have impacted related endeavors at the national and international levels.
The Provost’s Award, which recognizes excellent scholarship, creativity and promise among junior faculty members was given to the following individuals:
  • Troy Hicks, assistant professor of English, whose research interests are focused on K-12 teacher professional development, composition, innovative literacies and technology in education.
  • David Zanatta, an assistant professor of biology, whose research focuses primarily on evolutionary biology and freshwater mussel conservation.
Recipients of both the President’s and Provost’s Awards received a $1,200 stipend to support professional development endeavors.
Created by the Provost in 2002, the Faculty Distinguished Service Award recognizes faculty members with a record of distinguished service at CMU. Kevin Love, a management professor in CMU’s College of Business Administration, was honored with this award.  
Love joined CMU in 1979 and has been actively involved with the university ever since, participating in curriculum leadership with CMU’s Honors Program, the Leadership Institute, the leadership minor and the management consulting concentration.
Five faculty members also were recognized with CMU Excellence in Teaching Awards, including:
  • Jeffrey Bean, an assistant professor of English, language and literature since 2008.
  • Robert Fanning, an assistant professor of English, language and literature since 2008.
  • Lorrie Murray, an instructor in foreign languages, literatures and cultures since 2007.
  • Kayla Slezak, an assistant professor of management since 2008.
  • Cristen Vernon, an instructor in foreign languages, literatures and cultures since 2008.

Media Contacts

Steve Smith

Related Images

Related Videos